h1

drizzly rain – Now with IRC and radio!

September 9, 2010

The title says it all.

I’ve spent some time scouring Google to find ways to improve the quality of my blog, so hey, why not add a radio? Frankly, the process of setting up a radio was the most tedious thing ever, with me spending my entire Sunday afternoon trying to figure out how to set up Winamp for streaming and trying and unsuccessfully forwarding ports. This process ate up most of my day, leaving me scratching my head in frustration, just about ready to bash my laptop into the ground. Of course, if I did bash my laptop, there goes half of my life right there. But, after many hours of deliberation and frustration, 5 minutes of googling a different set of terms gave me a solution. I was kinda pissed, but the fact that I had something was glorious enough to make me ignore my previous rage.

And thus, drizzly radio is born.

Where is this radio you ask? Well, it’s in my new IRC channel, which took all of five minutes to set up (not including times wasted waiting on confirmation emails. Link to it is on the right, at least, I hope I wrote the link correctly. If it doesn’t work, the server is dalnet and the channel is #drizzlyrain. Yep.

Now moving on to the subject of downloads. Since I started reviewing stuff, I’ve been providing links to download the albums. Because a blog I follow, Shinnoden!, got taken down because of copyright, I won’t be posting anymore downloads anymore. This is because I don’t want to be b7’d and I like the domain name I currently have. However, you can still download the albums I review without scouring Google for it. I’ll be providing the download links in my IRC channel, which gives even more reasons for you to join it!

Now as for the specifics of drizzly radio, as of now it will be running almost 24/7, playing whatever comes up on my shuffle. If you’re on the IRC channel you get to request songs, and if I have it I’ll play it. In the future I hope to maybe set up a radio show with me talking, but I need a mic for that and I have to figure out how to get Winamp to work for talking and stuff. For now, drizzly radio will pretty much be playing my music 24/7, unless the server goes down. If the server does go back down, I’ll get it back up as soon as I can.

Now that that’s out of the way, please continue to enjoy drizzly rain!

9 comments

  1. :V Are there actually people active in the IRC?


    • Not really, just me. ;_;


      • Make a web-based IRC and I’ll lurk all day :V


      • I don’t know how to make one though D:


  2. http://www.google.ca/search?q=web-based+irc :/


    • I’d prefer not to use mibbit.

      What’s wrong with Chatzilla? D:


      • There’s chatzilla on your site? :/

        Anyways DO STUFF GEEZ GOSH


      • You’ve really imesesrpd me with that answer!


    • That’s a subtle way of thknniig about it.



Leave a Reply

